Mission Statement

The Scientific Steering Committe (WLA)

  • is responsible for the community contingent allocations of  DKRZ's resources.
  • advises the shareholders of DKRZ and the BMBF in conceptual issues concerning the DKRZ.

The Scientific Steering Committee includes representatives of leading German climate research institutions, including the four shareholders of DKRZ.

The Scientific Steering Committee consists of the following members:

  • Prof. Dr. Arne Biastoch, GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel
  • Dr. Frauke Feser, Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon (president)
  • Dr. Helge Goessling, Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung (AWI)
  • Dr. Patrick Ludwig, Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
  • Prof. Dr. Juan Pedro Mellado González, University of Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Johannes Quaas, Institut für Meterorologie, Universität Leipzig
  • Prof. Dr. Anja Schmidt, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft und Raumfahrt (DLR)
  • Prof. Dr. Uwe Ulbrich, Freie Universität Berlin (deputy)
  • Dr. Sebastian Wagner, Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon
  • Prof. Dr. Sönke Zaehle, Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry, Jena

The Executive Committee of the WLA consists of:

  • Dr. Frauke Feser, Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon (president)
  • Prof. Dr. Uwe Ulbrich, Freie Universität Berlin (deputy)

Meeting Protocols

The minutes of the WLA meetings are available for download (German only).